Generator has transformed into a mentoring, teaching, and innovation incubator that empowers independent artists, producers and leaders.

The Generator team minutes after announcing our new name. (left to right) Katie Leamen, Michael Wheeler, Camila Diaz-Varela, Tova Epp

Our History and Transformation:

For the past two decades, Generator has played an important role in assisting artists to develop the means to create and produce work. When Generator was founded as STAF in the fall of 1992 (around the same time the Blue Jays won their first World Series), it was created to make administration more affordable.

Much has changed in the intervening years as the independent theatre movement has exploded: The number of Fringe, Next Stage and SummerWorks applications increases annually, and the number of independent-category TAPA Members continues to see significant growth. The supply of resources to create this work continues to outstrip demand.

Cumulatively, this has led to more artists, creating more work, with fewer formal tools. In this environment of entrepreneurship, Generator has become an incubator for the creators who shape the future of performance in Toronto.

This current wave of artists runs lean operations that are often project-based. Without a subscriber base, they make work they hope will connect with new, frequently younger and more diverse audiences. They require a specific set of tools for a set period of time, without being saddled with the demands of a large organizational structure.

Mission Statement

To play a key role in a sustainable independent performance sector driven by self-producing artists. 


Featured in the Toronto Star on November 8, 2017

"Generator and The Riser Project: Sector developers for independent theatre in Toronto" - Research and Evaluation Study

Commissioned by Toronto Arts Foundation with support from the Metcalf Foundation and Toronto Arts Council, Generator was part of a two and a half year research and evaluation study. Released on Nov 9, 2017, the report takes a look at two change initiatives in the performing arts sector, Generator and Why Not Theatre's The Riser Project. Both ventures have emerged from the theatre community to devise new ways to support independent artists in today’s context of precarity and limited resources.

Click here for excerpts from the report about Generator.
The full 50-page report is available on the Toronto Arts Foundation's website



Board of Directors

  • Julie Tepperman, President (Co-Artistic Director of Convergence Theatre)
  • Aviva Armour-Ostroff, Secretary (Actor/Theatre Creator, 2015 Dora Nominee)
  • Peter Sevitt, Treasurer (Accountant)
  • Samuel Mann, Director (Project Manager)
  • Karl M. Druckman, Director (Lawyer)
  • Quinn Harris, Director (Lawyer)
  • Elenna Mosoff, Director (Founder and CEO of The Mission Business Inc.)